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SCHOOL IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR PRE-K, KINDERGARTEN, AND 7th GRADE 
 
 
Woodbury, TN July, 2025. The Tennessee Department of Health (TDOH) requires certain 
immunizations for students entering pre-k, kindergarten, and 7th grades. There is only one 
official TDOH certificate of immunization that must be completed by medical providers for 
delivery to schools. Parents must present this official form prior to or at their child’s registration 
for pre-k, kindergarten, 7th grade, or as a new student. This form is available from private 
healthcare providers or local health departments.  
 
Parents are urged to begin this process early to avoid a delay in their child’s school year. 
Medical providers experience high volumes of last minute immunization requests prior to the 
start of school. Therefore, beginning this process early can assure parents these requirements 
are met in advance of fall registration.  
 
Remember, according to Tennessee State Law (TCA 49-6-5001), no child shall be permitted to 
attend any public school, kindergarten, or pre-k until proof of immunization is given to the 
admissions officer of the school. Parents of pre-k, kindergarten, and 7th grade students must 
submit an Official Certificate of Immunization on, or prior to, school enrollment. Pre-K, 
Kindergarten, and 7th grade students without proper immunization documentation will not 
be allowed to attend Cannon County Schools until the Official Certificate of Immunization is 
submitted. Medical, religious or homeless exemptions may apply in some cases. 
 
Parents can call the Cannon County Health Department, located at 106 Alexander Drive, 
Woodbury, to schedule immunizations through their clinic. You can reach the Health 
Department at 615-563-4243.  Parents may also schedule immunizations through their private 
healthcare providers.      
 
Below is a summary of the TDOH rule 1200-14-1-29 which details the immunization 
requirements for children enrolling in Tennessee Schools. 
 
Children in Pre-School or Pre-K 

• Hepatitis B (HBV) 
• Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis (DTaP, or DT if appropriate) 
• Poliomyelitis (IPV or OPV) 
• Haemophilus influenzae type B (Hib) - age younger than 5 years only 
• Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV) - age younger than 5 years only 
• Measles, Mumps, Rubella - 1 dose of each, normally given together as MMR 
• Varicella - 1 dose or credible history of disease 
• Hepatitis A - 1 dose, required by 18 months of age or older 
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Children enrolling in Kindergarten 

• Hepatitis B (HBV) 
• Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis (DTaP, or DT if appropriate) 
• Poliomyelitis (IPV or OPV) - final dose on or after the 4th birthday 
• Measles, Mumps, Rubella - 2 doses of each, usually given together as MMR 
• Varicella - 2 doses or credible history of disease 
• Hepatitis A - total of 2 doses, spaced at least 6 - 18 months apart 

 
All children entering 7th grade (including currently enrolled students) 

• Tetanus-diphtheria-pertussis booster (Tdap) - evidence of one Tdap dose given before 
7th grade entry (administered at or after age 10) is required regardless of Td history 

 
Children who are new enrollees in a TN school in grades other than Kindergarten 

• Hepatitis B (HBV) 
• Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis (DTaP, or DT if appropriate) 
• Poliomyelitis (IPV or OPV - final dose on or after the 4th birthday 
• Measles, Mumps, Rubella - 2 doses of each, normally given together as MMR 
• Varicella - 2 doses or credible history of disease 
• New students entering grades other than 7th grade are not required to have Tdap 

 

Children with medical or religious exemption to requirements 

• Medical - Physicians (MD or DO) or Public Health Nurses are authorized to indicate specific 
vaccines medically exempted (because of risk of harm) on the certificate. Other vaccines 
remain required. The medical reason for the exemption does not need to be provided. 

• Religious - This exemption requires a signed statement by the parent/guardian that 
vaccination conflicts with their religious tenets or practices. The Religious Exemption form 
is located on the district website, ccstn.net. If the child needs documentation of a health 
examination for the school, it must be noted by the healthcare provider on the 
immunization certificate. In that case, the provider should check the box in section 1a. 
that the parent has sought a religious exemption to explain why immunization information 
is absent or incomplete. 
 

 

For more information, contact the Cannon County Health Department, your child’s physician, 
your school nurse, or Stephanie Alexander, Director of Coordinated School Health at 629-218-
4801 or stephanie.alexander@ccstn.net. 
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