Important Announcements:



Cannon County was established by the Tennessee State Legislature on Jan. 31, 1836. It was formed from portions of Rutherford, Smith, Wilson, and Warren counties and was named for Tennessee Governor Newton Cannon. This was part of the Middle Tennessee region; an area with mixed farming and livestock raising, including of thoroughbred horses.

Surrounding Area:

Adjacent counties include; DeKalb County (north east), Warren County (east), Coffee County (south), Rutherford County (west), and Wilson County (northwest). State protected areas include the Headwaters Wildlife Management Area and the Short Mountain State Natural Area.


2022 MTIDA Data Profile and Statistical Information for Cannon County, Tennessee (opens PDF file in new tab).  U.S. Census Bureau data: Quick Facts Cannon County, TN (link opens in new tab). According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Cannon County has a total area of 266 square miles (690 km2), of which 266 square miles (690 km2) is land and 0.06 square miles (0.16 km2) (0.02%) is water.
Population: (2020) 14,506, density 52 / sq. mi. (20/km2).

Time Zone: UTC -6 (Central), Summer (DST) UTC -5 (CDT)

Congressional District: U.S. 6th District    

Towns in Cannon County:

County Seat: The Town of Woodbury (link opens in new tab)
Auburntown (link opens in new tab)


Electric: Middle Tennessee Electric (MTE) (opens in a new window)
Gas: Middle Tennessee Natural Gas (opens in a new window)
Water: Woodbury Water (opens in a new window)
Dekalb Water (opens in a new window)
Warren County Utility District (opens in a new window)
Phone: Dekalb Telephone Cooperative Communications (DTC) (opens in a new window)    

Drivers Licenses:

New residents, or those returning to Tennessee and holding a driver license from another state, must obtain a Tennessee driver license no later than thirty (30) days after establishing residency. New residents will need to go to the County Clerk’s Office (opens in a new window). New residents holding a valid learner’s permit from another state must meet separate requirements to obtain a Tennessee learner permit or driver license. The Cannon County Drivers License Office is open from 8 AM – 4 PM, Mon., Thu., and Fri., at 110 S. Tatum St. in Woodbury, TN, in the Adams Building. The office can be found on the left when you enter the building from the main entrance on South Tatum Street. Phone: (615) 964-0887.

The office can help you with:

  • drivers license renewals
  • real IDs
  • change of address updates
  • gun permits (RENEWALS only)

The office can not:      

  • perform eye tests
  • perform driving tests
  • transfer an out of state license (an eye testing is required)

New Resident Documentation for new or returning Tennessee resident (opens in a new window).

Title VI Information

Please review Cannon County Title VI Information here. (opens a link in a new tab)

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.