Important Announcements:

Cannon County Clerk

Lana S. Jones
Lana S. Jones

200 W. Main St.
(Cannon County Courthouse)
Woodbury, TN 37190
Phone: (615) 563-4278
FAX: (615) 563-6476

Mon. – Tue., 8 AM – 4 PM
Thu. – Fri., 8 AM – 4 PM
Sat. 8 AM – Noon

Forms and Services:

License Plate Renewals (opens in a new window)
Auto Assistant App (opens in a new window)
Renewal Reminders (opens in a new window)
New Business Application (opens in a new window)
Marriage Application (opens in a new window)
Placards (opens in a new window)
Vehicle Sales Tax Calculator (opens in a new window)

Drivers Licenses:

New residents, or those returning to Tennessee and holding a driver license from another state, must obtain a Tennessee driver license no later than thirty (30) days after establishing residency. New residents will need to go to the Drivers License Office (opens in a new window). New residents holding a valid learner’s permit from another state must meet separate requirements to obtain a Tennessee learner permit or driver license. The Cannon County Drivers License Office is open from 8 AM – 4 PM, Mon. Thu., and Fri., at 110 S. Tatum St. in Woodbury, TN, in the Adams Building. The office can be found on the left when you enter the building from the main entrance on South Tatum Street. Phone: (615) 563-1289.

The office can help you with:

  • drivers license renewals
  • real IDs
  • change of address updates
  • gun permits (RENEWALS only)

The office can not:      

  • perform eye tests
  • perform driving tests
  • transfer an out of state license (an eye testing is required)

New Resident Documentation for new or returning Tennessee resident (opens in a new window).

The county clerk has numerous duties, including acting as clerk of the county legislative body, issuing motor vehicle titles and registrations, collecting privilege taxes, and overseeing the issuance of beer permits, and marriage licenses.

The county clerk is the clerk of the county legislative body. T.C.A. §§ 18-6-101; 18-6-104. The clerk keeps the official records of the body, sends required notices, and keeps a record of all appropriations and allowances made and all claims chargeable against the county.

The county clerk is elected to a four-year term in the August general election in the same even-numbered year that the governor is elected. T.C.A. § 18-6-101.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.